Awards for Life

Three of our colleagues in the School of Life Sciences have been recognized by the DBT (the Department of BioTechnology). Sharmishta Banerjee and Ravi Kumar Gutti  of the Department of Biochemistry have been given the 2011 Innovative Young Biotechnologist Award while Niyaz Ahmed Associate Professor in the Department of Biotechnology has been given the National Bioscience Award.

Here is something I found on his website: Dr Niyaz Ahmed graduated in Veterinary Medicine in 1995 and obtained further degrees in Animal Biotechnology (MS) and  Molecular Medicine (PhD). He joined the Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics – Hyderabad, as a tenured  Faculty Member (Staff Scientist) in 1998 and since then contributed a significant body of applied research in the area  of infectious disease biology and genetics. Amidst his busy research career Niyaz is an ardent supporter of the PLoS  lead contemporary approach to Open Science, Open Access to Science and Open Evaluation of Science. He is a  Section Editor (Microbiology and Genomics) of PLoS ONE and has overseen/handled peer review of dozens of  landmark articles there. Dr Ahmed is the co- founder of the ISOGEM, a scientific society headquartered at Sassari, Italy and serves as its General Secretary.  



9 thoughts on “Awards for Life

  1. Congratulations to our colleagues in Life Sciences. The recognition given to these two faculty members of the School of Life Sciences speaks of the growing strength of the School. Such distinction conferred on the faculty colleagues is a matter of pride to the School. I wish both of them to be successful with these award-linked grants and also for more laurels in the future.

  2. Dear prof.,
    u forgot Dr.sharmistha banerjee`s name…for the IYBA!!! plz check out.

    congrats to all the winners

    Selected Awardees for IYBA 2011

    The Department of Biotechnology happy to announce the selection of Awardees for IYBA 2011 and the list of Awardees (Alphabetic Order) is given below. The Awardees will be receiving formal letters shortly from DBT.

    Sl. No. Name of Awardee Institution
    1 Dr. Abhijeet Balwantrao Joshi IIT Bombay, Mumbai
    2 Dr. Amit Awasthi THSTI, Gurgaon
    3 Dr. Arun Kumar K. P. CDFD, Hyderabad
    4 Dr. Deepti Jain NCBS, Bangalore
    5 Dr. Harinath Chakrapani IISER, Pune
    6 Dr. Jiaur Rahaman Gayen CDRI, Lucknow
    7 Dr. Kavita Babu IISER, Mohali
    8 Dr. Krishan Gopal IMTECH, Chandigarh
    9 Dr. Nirotpal Mrinal South Asian University, New Delhi
    10 Dr. Pankaj Soni IMTECH, Chandigarh
    11 Dr. Ram Kishor Yadav South Asian University, New Delhi
    12 Dr. Ravi Kumar Gutti University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
    13 Dr. Sharmistha Banerjee University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
    14 Dr. Shweta Tyagi CDFD, Hyderabad
    15 Dr. Sourav Kumar Ghosh IISc., Bangalore
    16 Dr. Subhash Mohan Agarwal Instt. of Cytology and Preventive Oncology, Noida
    17 Dr. V. Badireenath Konkimalla NISER, Bhubaneshwar

  3. The faculty in the whole university are awesome , They encourage and support the students who are interested in learning.
    Sharmishta madam, has encouraged and guided me a lot in learning stuff which is out of the IMSC syllabus. This is what we students need and we get it. This makes me proud to study here as well as encourages me (in general ‘all’ ) to learn .
    – ashwin IMSc 1st year systems biology.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s